‘Mad Men’ no longer dominates Emmys

The 2012 Primetime Emmy Awards went on without a hitch on Sunday, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel. Big winners of the night were “Homeland” and “Modern Family.”

Critics seemed to find the 64 annual awards show to be a bit dull and predictable. The biggest upset of the night was “Homeland” taking home best drama instead of “Mad Men,” which had dominated the Emmys for the past four years. Lead Claire Danes accepted her award for best actress in a drama series.

Another upset was HBO’s “Game Change” taking home three Emmys, including writing for a miniseries, best miniseries or TV movie and best actress for Julianne Moore.

As expected, “Modern Family” took home the award for best comedy– one of their five awards. Since the show launched in 2010, it has gone on to win 16 Emmy awards.

One of the funnier moments of the night was courtesy of comedians Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Amy Poehler. As Louis-Dreyfus accepted her award for best actress in a comedy (“Veep”), she began to read the acceptance speech meant for Poehler (“Parks & Recreation”), at which point Poehler snuck to the spotlight to swap speeches. Louis-Dreyfus ended her speech with a shout-out to Poehler– all in good fun.

At one point in the night, to honor the deceased actors and actresses, Kimmel enlisted the help of Josh Groban and began performing “What Makes You Beautiful,” much to the excitement of the audience.

Some other notable wins went to “Two and a Half Men” star Jon Cryer for best actor in a comedy. Maggie Smith also took home an Emmy for her supporting performance in “Downton Abbey.” “Hatfields & McCoys” co-star Tom Berenger received an Emmy for best supporting actor in a miniseries or movie. Jon Stewart accepted his tenth consecutive Emmy for outstanding variety series for his work with “The Daily Show.”

Finally, other winners included “American Horror Story,” “Breaking Bad,” “Boardwalk Empires,” “The Amazing Race” and “Dancing With The Stars, ABC.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *